Meet the Bees

At the Shared Apiary, we run regular 'Meet the Bees' sessions. These have been very popular as small group sessions learning interesting facts on bees and experiencing the wonder of opening a hive and observing the complex colony. This is a great opportunity for deciding if beekeeping is for you. Get together a group sharing the experience with friends and family.  The courses only run between October and March, and are weather dependent to suit the bees.  All sessions have suits and gloves supplied. The classes are limited to small numbers.

$55 for 1.5 hour session    The Shared Apiary, Firthside      Bookings essential.

Next Courses

  • B7 - Wednesday 16 October 2019 Meet the Bees 10am

  • B8 - Saturday 26 October 2019 Meet the Bees 10am

  • B9 - Monday 28 October 2019 Meet the Bees 11am

 > book me in at our Shop


Beginner Bees

Have you been looking for a course on beekeeping? Beginner Bees provides a mix of theory and practice to get you started with bees. Learn where to locate the hive, inspect it, and how to work positively with the bees. Learn the essentials to ensure your bees stay alive and thrive through the seasons.

  • Saturday 14 September 2019 9.30 to 4.30pm (sold out)

  • Saturday 21 September 2019 9.30 - 4.30pm (sold out)

  • Friday 4 October 2019 9.30 - 4.30pm (two places)

  • Friday 11 October 2019 9.30 - 4.30pm (sold out)

  • Saturday 12 October 2019 9.30 - 4.30pm (sold out)

  • Friday 18 October 2019 9.30 - 4.30pm (sold out)

  • Saturday 19 October 2019 9.30 - 4.30pm (sold out)

  • Friday 8 November 2019 9.30 - 4.30pm (one place)

  • Saturday 9 November 2019 9.30 - 4.30pm (sold out)

  • Friday 6 December 2019 9.30 - 4.30pm

  • Saturday 7 December 2019 9.30 - 4.30pm

  • other classes by arrangement for groups of 4-6

The Shared Apiary, Firthside   Small class size  $220.00

 > book me in at our Shop


Learn to Build a Warre Hive

The Warre or people's hive is excellent for natural beekeeping practice. It is easily built and provides an attractive hive in your garden. The hive is becoming increasingly popular and this course introduces you to the principles of the hive, explores how it is managed as a beekeeper, its construction, considerations for the cool Tasmanian climate and some hands on experience in building the hive. The course includes a hive box you get to keep. Plans provided. Carpentry experience is not necessary. Classes at The Shared Apiary, Firthside.

  • W11 Sunday 22 September 2019 9.30 - 12N

  • W12 Saturday 5 October 2019 9.30 - 12N (sold out)

  • W13 Sunday 27 October 2019 9.30 - 12N

  • W14 Saturday 30 November 2019 9.30 - 12N

Bookings essential. Limited to 4 participants. $150

>book me in at our shop


LANGSTROTH HIVE

LANGSTROTH HIVE

Building a Langstroth Hive

If a Langstroth Hive is your choice, then this class will explain how to build a kit correctly. The functioning of the hive will be explained along with details of design pros and cons, box construction, frame and foundation options, hive mats, bottom boards and lids, quilt boxes and finishing of hives. The moisture challenges of this hive will be explored. The class includes hands on experience of building an ideal box which you get to take home, and you will have options of purchasing hive hardware.  Carpentry experience is not necessary. Classes at The Shared Apiary, Firthside, Kingston.can be booked and paid for on an individual or small group basis. We will contact you to arrange a time.

Bookings essential. Limited to 4 participants. $65 >book me in at our shop